My Only Fear 

When I was trading 18 hours a day, I had no sense of what I was risking. Or maybe I did, but just refused to acknowledge it’s existence or the possible effects it would have if things went wrong.

If I thought something, I would do it and act on that thought instinctively and quickly. When I traded my best, I found this process would be automatic and seamless.

Hesitation meant that I was second guessing myself, which in turn meant my confidence wasn’t where it needed to be to trade the best of my abilities. Which basically just meant the confidence to put my balls on the line at any given time.

In hindsight I realise that I just refused to look at the looming disaster ahead that I was creating in order to escape the world I had created for myself.

It was a world of seemingly endless cashflow, no rules, anything materially I ever dreamt and more, a hazy world of wasting what I couldn’t spend or give away, drugs and partying, travelling the world in style whenever I wanted and just basic excess.

But the happiness I thought would be part of having all that just never seem to come. I was empty inside. So as I took on risks that most people would not even believe and lived with abandon, it was just a case of when, not if, I would atomically implode.

I knew it was coming and I knew it was going to be monumentally life damaging. My eyes were shut wide open as the sand fell through the hourglass of my life.

The hourglass that held the secret of when my whole life as I knew it would be nuked beyond comprehension.

 I thought that I had no fear and that the fears of normal people didn’t and couldn’t effect me.  I realise now that I was probably more fearful of myself than anything else. 

So if I did have this underlying fear, it was one in which I had every reason to worry. One that I didn’t act upon or ask for help with… although I do look back and wonder what the hell was everyone around me seeing.

Why didn’t someone say something?

Maybe because I wouldnt of listened anyway. To really take advice, you need to have an underlying fear of what the world could do to you.

…and my only Fear was the unpredictability of my own behaviour.

.

Published by:

The Resurrected Trader

Events after getting lost in the city one summer afternoon led me to the floor of the Sydney Futures Exchange where I would become the youngest 'local' trader in history. I had no idea what I was doing but I knew instinctively that this was what I had to be. I would never work for anyone again. And of course, I wanted to be rich and have fun doing it. But my life would never be considered 'normal' again. Far from it. The easiest thing to do was to make money. And lots of it. The hardest: Surviving a life with no boundaries or limits. This is my life as a Futures Trader.

Categories fRoM wHeRE i stANdTags , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

